top of page

National Curriculum

The National Curriculum

At Burnhope Primary School we are use a subject based approach to the curriculum.


The school curriculum includes the ‘national curriculum’, religious education and sex education.  The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.

Other types of school like academies and private schools don’t have to follow the national curriculum. Academies must teach a broad and balanced curriculum including English, maths and science. They must also teach religious education.

Key Stages

The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS).


At the end of each key stage, your child’s teacher will formally assess their performance to measure your child’s progress.

bottom of page